top of page

IMPOSTER

Through eyes that cannot seem to see, you walk, move and try to talk like me.

In cursed words of hatred sprouted from within

Grin unbearably at my essence, mockingly.

False words spring from your false tongue

Speaking of deeds and things you have never done.

Fancy lies is your cloak of poorly woven material held together so flimsy.

You change your hair and lips and contact your eyes. Hating your outer appearance.

But only I can see through your lies.

Coveting what I am and wanting what I achieve and got.

You only want what you see on the surface, below its veneer you want not.

You don’t want my trials nor my pain.

You only seek to do me a disservice as you exclaim “Girl I can relate to you.”

I see through your eyes being able to see all of you.

A false sister, no kin to me.

How can you relate as you never have felt the levels of poverty?

Through your eyes I can see what you are desperately trying to be.

Strong, proud and beautiful filled with god’s given thrive to aspire freely.

Try as you might, but you will always, always be.

A distant shadow that walks behind me.

Comments


bottom of page