top of page

Beginnings

“My prince you cannot leave what will your father say?”

“I don’t care. Make something up you always do.”

“But…”

“But what?”

The older man of the two within the room cleared his throat before speaking. His actions agitated as he wrung his wrinkled hands.

“My prince your father will not accept another excuse from me. he threatened to kill me if you do not appear.”

Madix, closed his eyes as he listened.

“By you not appearing at the summit. He was angered and embarrassed in front of the leaders.”

“Why me? I have three brothers ahead of me in succession. Why should I put my neck out to seal a treaty by marriage?”

“Please take no offense but it is done this way. It has been done this way for ages.”

Malix knew his father would make good on his threat. He would kill the old to make in his point.

“Alright, I will appear.”

“” It’s all that that I can ask.”

Madix watched as Gerwin walked to his wardrobe and began laying out his attire. If he had his way, Madix would wear practically nothing. He hated the constrictions of the political uniform. The tightness of the tunic turned him off. Minutes later he walked out of his chamber to his transport. He hated all the prompt and circumstance that went with his heritage. Arriving at the designated palace. Madix ran a hand through his black hair.

When he got a moment, he would pull his father to the side. He had no desire to marry. Especially any woman from the Lowol planet.

“Finally, my son shows his face.”

“Father.” Madix bowed before his father and the other world leaders.

“Rise boy, come meet Durn, leader of Lowol and his daughter Rena.”

Stepping forward Madix’s blue eyes watched as the Lowol Leader stepped forward. His arm held onto a woman of Madix’s matching. She wore a gown of pink. The sheer material barely covered her personal parts. Hiding his displeasure Madix waited until they were introduced.

“Prince Madix, my daughter Rena.”

Madix bowed and took Ren’s hand raising it to his lips. Her grip tightened on his fingers and Madix read her intentions through them. she wanted this union of marriage between them. she had pressured her father for it. golden hair fell to her shoulders as she lowered her pink hood from her head. Her strong features made her pretty but that was all.

“Lady Rena.”

“Prince Madix.”

Madix was not moved by her sweeten tone, or the fact that his father had clamped him on the back. Assuming that Madix was for this marriage.

“Come let us talk of our children’s union. Besides the planetary gains for both our planets.

“Yes.”

Madix followed behind his father as the leader of Lowol went into discussions that he didn’t give a care about. On his arm Lady Rena pushed her agenda.

“I think our ceremony should be at sunset. It makes my eyes glorious. It will hold up well with the people of both planets as they will become captivated by my beauty. Of course, our main ceremony will be on my home planet.”

Madix stopped walking and stared at the woman at his side.

“No.”

Rena kept talking as if she had not heard him. “we should use flowers from Aztra desert.”

“No.”

“I want the ceremony done by the sacred waters of Lowol.”

“I said no.”

Finally, Madix words reached her.

“What?”

“I said no. I do not want to marry you.”

“But you lamped my father’s arm.”

“yes, in greetings only. I only showed up today to let my father and your father know that I have no intentions of marrying you.”

“The treaty between our worlds, what about that?”

“there can always be a treaty, but I’m not marrying you.”

Rena’s mouth fell open before she slammed it close. She wanted what she wanted and Madix was what she wanted from the very first time she had heard his name. She knew he was handsome she had surveillance sent to her on him.

“Are you entangled with someone else? I heard that you were single. Your own father said so.”

“my father knows nothing of my love life. nor does he know of her existence. Why not marry one of my older brothers. I’m sure they are more than a match for you and your beauty.”

Rena’s eyes narrowed as she looked Madix over. His strong handsome features and blue eyes drew her to him. She had taken a transport to watch him sparring at the practice center. She cared not that he wanted someone else. It only mattered that she wanted him. Resuming her walk she called over her shoulder.

“it matters not to me who you care for. I still want to marry you. She could be your concubine.”

Madix watched as she walked away and took a seat next to her father.

“Madix comes.”

Madix gritted his teeth as he walked towards his father.

“Before you say anything father. I do not want to marry this girl.”

The leader of Lowol bristled in his seat.

“What is he talking about Khan?”

“I’m talking about not marrying your daughter.”

“Why?”

“For starters, I’m involved with someone else. Second, she is selfish and pushed you to via for this marriage. Third I’m not the first inline to rule after my father nor am I willing to change our planets rule for the whim of a woman. It makes no sense for us to marry when she can get what she wants from Dari.”

“Father I don’t want Dari. I want him.”

“Rena, he does have a point. He has brothers before him.”

“But I want him!”

Madix watched as his father’s temper rose.

“Dammit Madix hold your tongue. You know damn well I chose who will succeed me.”

“well it won’t be I father. I do not want to rule here or on Lowol. I certainly do not want this woman for a wife.

“I make the decisions here. You will sit and you will talk of a union with this woman.”

“No, I only came because Gerwin told me of your threat. Now I’m leaving.”

Rena smiled as he defiantly turned and walked away.

“Can we get over this unpleasant moment and talk about the wedding?”

Both men cut their eyes to Rena. She acted as if Madix had not expressed his wants.

“Daughter I think…”

“I know father, I was taken aback when he first said it. but we all know marriages in our day are not made on love.”

“Your daughter is right Durn, the boy has no choice.”

“What about your other sons?”

“They will fall in-line with what I say.”

Madix reached his transport and left the summit as he pulled away from the domed building. He knew his actions would spare Gerwin’s life. he was headed home. He needed to speak with his brothers. One of them was going to marry that woman or none of them were. He knew for sure he wasn’t. stopping at his favorite garden Madix exited the silver transport and walked into a wall of greenery. He had been standing by the fountain when he felt a tingle run up his legs. Looking down Madix watched as a bright light erupted from beneath his feet and covered his body. The spot he once stood on became brighter and sparkled with colorful lights. Silence reigned in the last spot where Madix gasped before he was gone.

Magnus was teaching me everything he knew about the stones and I was a quick learner. Somehow, I knew time was quickly evaporating for me. in the back of my mind my stepmother was always there as well as the sentry she tried to sell me to. I saw the mask behind the eyes that had watched me that night. I felt that they would come back. Magnus’s wife Delia was like a mother in the short time I met her. We worked daily on the stones and I knew their secrets.

Magnus was a young man trapped in an illusion created by the stones. I wanted to help him as much as he helped me. I ventured to my practice spot in the garden, a daily portion of the forest. I had slipped the stones from their encasement. Wrapped each one carefully and hid them on me as I walked into the greenery. Lovingly I traced each stone and placed them before me. Delia was a mage and implored me to be very careful with my words. Words is what got Manus into his predicament. I knew from practice that holding the stones together was not good and I avoided doing just that. So, I placed them on the ground and stood back. Reaching out like Magnus taught me. I felt the tingling in me feet begin. Not breaking concentration, I held on as the tingling increased until I felt it all over e. a colorful burst of light emanated from the stone. Gasping as I saw the light begin to spin. The spiral of colors slowed down and within in them stood the outline of a man. With a sparkling burst of light, the man looked at me grunted and fell to his knees. Oh no what had I done. Instantly I yelled…

“Magnus!”





Opmerkingen


bottom of page